Review: Yves Saint Laurent Black Opium Eau de Parfum

I actually first smelled this perfume at a mall and fell in love with it. It reminded me of a sweet-sexy combo with a delicate feminine edge. Although I didn’t purchase it then, I happened to get Black Opium as a gift two years later from my college friends.

I wouldn’t classify this perfume as a mild one. It is more like a dark, intense and velvety scent that I wear in the evening or in the cold winter. I find the bottle extremely cute and edgy, like a bold red evening dress. It has a grainy ceramic feel to it with a soft glittery texture that gets it going for me (I love sparkles and glitter).

At first sniff, I am hit with notes of warm coffee and vanilla; hints of jasmine in the background too. It slows down to a spicy feel with notes of patchouli, orange blossom and woody undertones. Although some of the main notes are supposed to be pink pepper and pear, I don’t get much of it.

As far as longevity is concerned, I would say Black Opium lasts around 6-7 hours for me. There have been times when I sprayed the perfume on at 10am in the morning and could still smell it at 8pm in the evening. After having used this perfume for almost a year now, I would say that it doesn’t quite top my list of perfumes, primarily because it can be overbearing at times. In addition, it is a bit too sweet for my taste. However, I have gotten a fair amount on complements whenever I’ve worn Black Opium.

Would I get this perfume again? Probably not. It doesn’t classify as a must-have in my perfume wardrobe. Although I like Black Opium, it is a fragrance that I feel I need a break from at times, perhaps because of the too-sweetness.

My rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

